Skip to content

What wool and knitting mean to me. part 1

July 31, 2014

 I was asked “what does wool and knitting mean to you?” and of course I replied with a stream of memories, experiences, feelings and opinions. Now of course, three weeks later, how do I begin to put it all down in words?

Laura, Harvey Clare and me.

Laura, Harvey, Clare and me.

 I think that for me it all starts with family. I count myself very fortunate to have had my Grandma live with us for most of my childhood. I have two sisters and a brother and my Grandma played a very important part in our everyday lives. Long before I learnt to knit myself one of our favourite jobs was to hold the wool while she wound it into balls, we had to take it in turn of course, just as we had to take it in turn to sit on her knee or cut the sellotape when she was wrapping parcels.

 Even before that of course were all the knitted toys, baby clothes and dolls clothes that she knitted for us. I don’t remember her ever being without some knitting in her bag (or aniseed balls for that matter!) She passed her skills on to her daughters and so my Mum and Aunties are all amazing knitters. It was a part of our everyday life for there to be a knitting or sewing circle in our sitting room. 

 this is Auntie Anne teaching Poppy, my eldest, to knit in my Mum’s back garden.

Sadly my Grandma died when I was expecting my first baby so she didn’t get to see my Daughter or my passion for knitting grow. I am now passing that passion on to my three daughters and a larger “Williams’ Wools” family.

 My Mum lives in Yorkshire and I don’t get to see her as often as I’d like, but I know she is busy knitting baby clothes for a new addition to the family, her first  great grandchild, my first grandchild and my daughter’s first baby. My girls sit and knit with me and although we are not sat in the sitting room in Barnby Dun knitting with my Mum, we are in her heart and she knits each stitch with love.

 Wool and knitting is a part of my own personal history which begins and ends with family.

Great Grandma, new Mummy, Matilda and me, Brand New Grandma

Great Grandma, new Mummy, Matilda and me, Brand New Grandma

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Karie Bookish Dot Net

Karie Westermann knits (and crochets too)

Shinybees

The Multi-Award Winning Knitting, Comedy and Yarn Podcast

DARTMOOR TWEED

devon's social fabric

Nettynot Craft

Nettynot's wonderful world of crafty potterings!

Adrienneknits's Blog

family, friends, knitting and other things I love

knittingkonrad

A fine knitting blog

Mr. Death's Ephemeral Pageant

The Art and Writing of Audrey Niffenegger

Adventuresinbeeland's Blog

My beekeeping bumbles

Crafts & Coffee

Relaxed Friendly Craft Sessions in Surrey

Archives and Old Lace

Playing with old books & vintage crafts...

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

click'n'knit

striving needles

making things with beautiful yarn

knitting, growing, nurturing...

Wovember

Celebrating WOOL for what it is.

Workshops Online

Learn and create from the comfort of your home.

yarnandpointysticks

knitting and other things

marie wallin

BLOG - What is she going on about?!

